2010 Honor Award Recipients
- Rozier Award
- Osmund Overby Award
- McReynolds Awards
- Preserve Missouri Award
Toney & Kathleen Aid
West Plains, Howell County
Toney and Kathleen Aid have a long record as dedicated preservationists. With deep roots in the small town of West Plains, they understand that buildings communicate the beauty and heritage of the Ozarks region as well as the scenery. In their quest to preserve the history of their community, the Aids have led by example. They submitted the first National Register nominations for buildings in Howell County, and have rehabilitated over a dozen buildings in the downtown commercial district using the state historic tax credits. Missouri Preservation has recognized the quality of the rehabilitation with a state preservation award. The Aids’ projects have benefitted West Plains in numerous ways. Important historic buildings in the downtown were preserved; the businesses that now occupy the buildings brought well-paying jobs to the community; and together these results have enhanced the local tax base. The book West Plains, 1880-1930 that Toney authored for the Images of America series published by Arcadia Publishing is another celebration of the local heritage. Their commitment to preservation does not stop in West Plains. Both Toney and Kathleen were active members with Missouri Preservation, and Toney served on the Board of Directors for many years.
Osmund Overby Award
Arrow Rock: Where the Past is the Future
Abigail Pheiffer, Shane Epping, Leah Gallo, editors
Arrow Rock: Where the Past is the Future represents the work of twenty-one student photojournalists from the University of Missouri, School of Journalism. After two semesters documenting the buildings and residents of Arrow Rock, the students compiled their work into a book that presents the culture of the unique community through images and text. It teaches us about the daily workings of the village and introduces us to the individuals who call Arrow Rock home. One moving feature of the book is a series of “House Portraits,” photographs of individuals posing in front of their homes. This book is a distinct reminder that preservation cannot be successful without the people whose passion ensures that historic buildings remain vital and viable resources.
Les Amis —Creole Corridor
One of the more unique aspects of Missouri history is the role played by French colonial settlers who established communities along the Mississippi River in the 18th century. Over the past 15 years, the group Les Amis has demonstrated their commitment to preserving this vanishing segment of our history. Established in 1994, the group initially served as a fund-raising organization to support the physical restoration and interpretation of the Bauvais-Amoreux House in St. Genevieve. This house is one of only five poteaux-en-terre houses in Missouri. The funds raised by Les Amis have enabled critical restoration of the historic structure. Projects have included installation of historically accurate roofing and siding, restoration of the stone chimney and porch, and upgrades to the electrical system. The organization has since broadened its scope to bring awareness and support to French Creole resources in both Missouri and Illinois. In addition to a self-guided tour of the region, Les Amis hosts a variety of public festivals and educational events annually and is currently spearheading efforts to designate the Creole Colonial District as a World Heritage Site. There is no doubt that their on-going efforts will keep Missouri’s French heritage alive for many years to come.
Harney Mansion Foundation
The Major General William S. Harney Summer Home
Sullivan, Franklin County
The Harney Mansion Foundation organized in 1998 to save the summer home of Major General William S. Harney. Harney became famous for his service in the War of 1812 and in the Civil War. When he acquired the property in Sullivan, a 7,800-square foot house (built in 1856) stood on the site. General Harney added on to the house in 1872, replicating the original design and stone construction. In the early 1980s the house was donated to the William S. Harney Historical Society, who placed it on the National Register of Historic Places. When the historical society disbanded in 1996, the City of Sullivan became owner of the property. Without funds for maintenance, the house fell into disrepair. The Harney Mansion Foundation stepped in to save the house from demolition in 1998, intending to convert it into a museum and community center. Twelve years later they are making progress in their efforts to restore the house to its historic splendor. An important achievement was funding a feasibility study to guide the restoration process. Following that blueprint, the Foundation has halted the deterioration that threatened the house 10 years ago, and they are making progress toward realizing their full vision. Following the installation of modern water and sewer service and the construction of restrooms in 2009, the property is scheduled to host weddings and other events in 2010.
Preserve Missouri Award
New Franklin, Howard County
Shortly after arriving to Howard County from his native Kentucky, Thomas Hickman built a 2,200 square foot residence in 1819. Hickman owned a hardware and dry goods store, and his brick house expressed his success. The cottage is a simple example of the Georgian style, which was popular at this time in the South. For decades the house sat vacant and isolated on a large piece of property owned by the University of Missouri’s Center for Agroforestry. As the house neared the point of irreparable deterioration the University embarked on a program of restoration. A team of craftsmen (masons, millworkers, and a blacksmith) salvaged, repaired and reutilized a high percentage of the almost 200-year old building fabric. Material that was missing or beyond repair was replicated to match the original. Modernization included installing a geo-thermal heat pump to provide HVAC and new electrical and lighting systems. The restoration ensures that the Hickman House will stand as a sentinel for future visitors, teaching them about the Westward Expansion that brought so many new citizens to Missouri.
Parade Park Maintenance Building*
Kansas City, Jackson County
The Kansas City Parks Department constructed a limestone maintenance facility in Parade Park near the 18th & Vine neighborhood in 1912 — 1916. The utilitarian structure had an efficient plan that incorporated a small office with workshops and storage areas for vehicles and equipment. Nearly a century later, the building was largely underutilized and beginning to deteriorate when the Parks Department teamed with the Black Archives of Mid-America to redevelop the Parade Park Maintenance Building as a center for learning and research about the African American experience in the Midwest. The project created a permanent home for the Black Archives’ archival collections and provides museum and office space for the organization. The most significant aspects of the rehabilitation — replacing insensitive windows, making significant masonry repairs, and installing a new red tile roof — restored the key elements of the building’s historic design. These changes alone had a dramatic and positive impact on the building’s appearance. The rehabilitation and the adaptive reuse of the Parade Park Maintenance Building is another success in on-going efforts to revitalize Kansas City’s most significant African American neighborhood.
Building #2, Western Tablet & Stationary Company*
St. Joseph, Buchanan County
The Western Tablet & Stationery Company built Building #2 at its factory complex in 1920. The company was known for products such as the “Big Chief” writing tablet, used by generations of American school children. At six stories and 158,000 square feet Building #2 was a massive addition to the plant. It became even larger in the early 1940s when the company constructed an addition that tripled the original size. The complex manufactured paper products until 2004. That year Foutch Brothers purchased the building, adding it to their inventory of downtown St. Joseph property. After a $30 million rehabilitation, the building now contains 186 market-rate loft-style apartments; 72 corporate apartments; and 64,000 square feet of retail space. Most notable among the numerous amenities are 141 underground parking spaces, a unique feature in St. Joseph. The building has brought hundreds of new residents to the area, generating synergy with the other commercial and tourism resources nearby.
Kansas City, Jackson County
Nelle E. Peters, one of Kansas City’s first and highly regarded women architects, designed the Valentine on Broadway apartment-hotel in 1927. It provided comfortable, convenient, stylish and affordable housing to middle class residents. There were only a few tenants in the building in 2008 when McCormack Baron Salazar began rehabilitating the building. Masonry failure had been a problem for many decades, and significant anchoring and replacement of brick was part of the program. Historically-appropriate windows and storefronts were installed along with new exterior lighting that highlights the exterior architecture, and of course upgrades to the apartment units. A big surprise came during selective demolition when contractors uncovered elements of the original ornamental plaster in the lobby. Mid-project the owners decided to restore the elaborate entry hall and main lobby. The Valentine Apartments once again provide attractive and affordable housing for residents in Midtown Kansas City.
Deacon Hardware Warehouse*
Harrisonville, Cass County
The Deacon Hardware Company Warehouse was built in 1903 just off the courthouse square in Harrisonville, across the street from the post office. It is a utilitarian building with limited architectural ornament. It most distinctive functional features, two large vehicular bays in the main façade, had been infilled when David and Virginia Atkinson acquired the building. The Atkinsons completed a rehabilitation project, restoring many distinctive features to the property – including the vehicular bays. The Atkinsons and their team worked closely with SHPO staff to design storefronts that sensitively reference the historic openings. Today the building houses two commercial business and two second floor apartments, and it once again contributes to the vitality of downtown Harrisonville.
Bethany, Harrison County
Rehabilitation of the 1850s Slaten House was a labor of love for owners Doug and Rolanda Dale, farmers in this northwest Missouri community. When the Dales embarked on their project, only opossums, raccoons, and mud daubbers lived in the house. Porch railings, fire places, banisters, and much of the plaster were missing. Sparked by their interest in history, the Dales embarked on a sensitive rehabilitation that addressed the house top to bottom, inside and out, while making the necessary upgrades for a modern family. Once again, the house stands in glorious tribute to its mid-nineteenth century heritage.
Bel Air Hotel*
St. Louis City
The Bel Air Motel has provided lodging for visitors to St. Louis since 1957. While other developers had passed on the project and considered razing and redeveloping the parcel, the Roberts Companies chose to rehabilitate the building and to restore its striking mid-century Modern appearance. The structural grid and windows are key elements that define the character of buildings from this period; work to both of these elements restored the historic, light and airy design. On the interior, the lobby, restaurant, and guest rooms received all new finishes and fixtures befitting the spirit and intent of the original plan. Special care was taken with the canopy over the driveway and a second code-required elevator shaft to ensure that neither of these features would detract from the historic character of the motel. Where developers once turned away from the mid-century buildings along Lindell Boulevard, the revitalized building has sparked interest in refurbishing similar buildings in the vicinity.
St. Louis City
For over a decade, 2730 McNair was an eyesore to its neighborhood. When the Phoenix Redevelopment Group took on the project in 2007, the 1885 Second Empire building suffered numerous challenges. The character-defining mansard roof had been altered and the brick was painted a series of vibrant colors. More significantly, the roof on the one-story section was collapsing, taking with it portions of the rear wall. The rehabilitation, completed in 2009, transformed the building into a showcase of preservation practices. In addition to structural upgrades, the developers reconstructed the roof and replaced sash windows with historically appropriate designs; the failed rear wall was rebuilt, and paint was stripped from the brick. The restored cast iron storefront now showcases new commercial businesses. Historic elements from the 1930s were retained in three full-floor residential units. Encouraged, the developers have begun other rehabilitation projects in the area.
Hannibal, Marion County
Clemens Field is a WPA baseball stadium constructed for the City of Hannibal in 1937-39. Over the years, it hosted games for the semi-professional Hannibal Travelers team as well as professional exhibition games. During World War II it was a prisoner of war camp. Two professional farm teams called Clemens field home until the mid-1950s. While local softball and baseball leagues continued to use the park, the concrete grandstand fell into disrepair. Regular flooding left the field and field level locker rooms, restrooms, and concession areas muddy and unusable. Restoration began late in 2008. Work included removing hard-packed much from the floors of the grandstand, restoring original doorways, windows and concession windows, and repairing to the steel structure that supports the roof over the grandstand. New seats were fabricated to match the original seats. The field received new drainage and sprinkler systems. Thrilled with the refurbished field, the local community made the first season for the Hannibal Cavemen a sell-out success.
*project used state and/or federal historic tax credits