What We Do

Missouri Preservation advocates for, educates about, and assists in the preservation of architectural and historic landmarks that embody Missouri’s unique heritage and sense of place.

We Educate: Coordinate the annual Missouri Statewide Preservation Conference, with technical workshops and trade show exhibits, that provides networking opportunities among conference participants and experts. Sponsor a variety of educational workshops in various communities throughout the state. We Advocate: Inform the public of the cultural and economic value of protecting our irreplaceable resources that encourage heritage tourism and generate economic development. Promote awareness of our threatened historic resources through an annual list of Missouri’s Most Endangered Historic Places. Honor individuals and organizations across the state that have contributed to the preservation of Missouri’s historic resources through the Statewide Preservation Honor Awards, presented each year at the State Capitol. We Assist: Keep you “in the know” with the preservation community through the Missouri Preservation newsletter, email updates, our web site and Facebook, highlighting preservation efforts and issues throughout the state. Provide technical assistance, suggest funding options, and offer restoration strategies for property owners and
entire communities.


About Us: The Missouri Alliance for Historic Preservation, (Missouri Preservation) is Missouri’s only statewide, non-profit organization dedicated to promoting, supporting, and coordinating historic preservation activities throughout the State.

Who We Are: Founded in 1976 as the Missouri Heritage Trust, Missouri Preservation has evolved into a respected grassroots network of individuals, organizations, and preservation commissions throughout Missouri. We are united in our efforts to preserve the rich and diverse cultural and historic resources of the “Show Me” State. Headquartered geographically in the center of the state, in Columbia, Missouri Preservation is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors. Board members represent urban, rural, and suburban interests, as well as a variety of professions. Preservation forged an exciting partnership with the National Trust for Historic Preservation as a participant in the Trust’s Statewide Initiative Program. In 2008, through a Partners in the Field Challenge Grant, a Field Representative was hired to bring education, advocacy and outreach to communities throughout our state. Missouri Preservation’s continued commitment to this endeavor is indicative of our mandate to protect the irreplaceable, and to make historic preservation a cornerstone of Missouri’s public policy and planning agenda for the 21st century.  At the end of this three-year grant period, Missouri Preservation established a permanent Field Services Committee and made the Field Representative a permanent position.

More About What We Do: Missouri Preservation has worked for a quarter century to instill a preservation ethic throughout Missouri. The organization yearly coordinates a statewide preservation conference and a variety of educational workshops that convene in various communities throughout the State. Such meetings provide opportunities for networking and discussion on timely topics impacting historic preservation. An annual awards program spotlights and celebrates preservation success stories throughout Missouri. In the year 2000 Missouri Preservation established its Most Endangered Places Program, providing a listing of and promoting awareness of threatened historic resources throughout the State. Our newsletter, Missouri Preservation News, our web site, our listserv (preservemo@yahoogroups.com) and our Facebook page help keep the preservation community apprized of our activities, and highlight newsworthy preservation efforts and issues from across the State.

The organization has played an advocacy role in promoting the establishment and continued use of the Missouri Rehabilitation Tax Credit. Missouri Preservation has produced seminars, informational packets, and an informational video to facilitate widespread usage of the program and bring the economic benefits of the credit to the state and local levels.

The Challenges Ahead: Despite a growing recognition of the important role historic places play in creating livable communities and in contributing to the state’s economic vitality, there are still a multitude of threats to Missouri’s historic resources. This necessitates careful vigilance. While federal and state rehabilitation tax credits have generated new interest in our state’s downtown business districts and neighborhoods, population loss in the core of our communities is still occurring at an alarming rate. The resultant urban sprawl has changed the face of suburbia, and threatens once pristine rural countryside. The changing face of American agricultural production has resulted in increased population loss and rising poverty rates in small towns and rural hamlets. Small towns also tend to have less access to technical assistance on preservation issues. All of these social and economic trends place many of Missouri’s historic resources at risk-the very resources that can provide a base for economic growth through heritage tourism. An increasingly complicated environment demands increasingly sophisticated solutions.


Board of Directors – Officers

Bradley Wolf, President                            (Kansas City)

Ann Holtshouser, Treasurer                    (St. Louis)

Craig Milde, Secretary                         (Jackson)

David Richardson, General Counsel       (St. Louis)

Peter Wollenberg, Officer At-Large         (St. Louis)


Board of Directors

Austin Barzantny     (St. Louis)

James Baughn          (Cape Girardeau)

Joy Coleman             (Kansas City)

Jessie Francis           (O’Fallon)

Carolee Hazlett        (Moberly)

Kathy Hunt               (St. Louis)

Mike Kettelkamp      (Hannibal)

Craig Milde                (Jackson)

Gayla Roten             (Branson)

Marion Smith          (St. Louis)

Patrick Wolf             (St. Louis)


Ex-Officio Board Members

Amanda Crawley     (Kansas City)

Toni Prawl               (Jefferson City)

David Richardson   (St. Louis)

Andrew Weil            (St. Louis)

Eric Youngberg       (Kansas City)


Advisory Board Members

Jeff Brambila           (St. Louis)

Jeanine Cook           (St. Louis)

Gerry Friedman      (Labadie)

Carol Grove             (Columbia)

Erle Lionberger       (St. Louis)

Randy Maness         (Doniphan)

Elizabeth Rosin       (Kansas City)

Deb Sheals               (Columbia)

Meade Summers Jr.(Clayton)


Bill Hart, Executive Director (St. Louis)

Riley Price, Administrator (St. Louis)